February 2013-February 2014

  The MHSTeCA offers an opportunity for tennis coaches to work together toward the improvement of both individual and collective facets of the profession.  For more than a quarter century, it has sponsored clinics that have featured some of the foremost experts in our field.  Past speakers have included Arthur Ashe, Chris Evert, Vic Braden, Tim Gullikson, Dennis Vandermeer and Peter Burwash.  In addition, the association board selects the all-state team and the coach-of-the-year award, initiates significant rules changes (the change to four equal divisions and the 16-point state qualifier rule are but two examples), speaks with a unified voice when working with the MHSAA (the Gender Equity Lawsuit is but one example), offers a tournament clearinghouse to aid in locating Saturday tournaments, and boasts an excellent web site filled with useful information.

  The MHSTeCA membership fee of $20.00 includes:

  1. Michigan High School Coaches Association (MHSCA) membership.
  2. National High School Coaches Association (NHSACA) membership.
  3. MHSTeCA Directory which contains names, home addresses, home phone numbers, cell phone numbers, e-mail addresses, school names and addresses, school phone numbers, and FAX numbers of approximately 400 tennis coaches throughout the state. Updated directories are posted periodically on the web site As a member, you will receive notification of periodic changes in the password.
  4. Eligibility for MHSTeCA Coach of the Year award if you are a high school coach.
  5. Eligibility for MHSTeCA Assistant Coach of the Year award.
  6. Eligibility for MHSTeCA Academic All-State Team recognition.

Please make check payable to the Michigan High School tennis Coaches Association (or MHSTeCA) and send it with a completed application to Ed Waits; 8720 Vanderstel; Newaygo, MI 49337. In return, you will receive membership cards and a hard copy of the directory.

Click here for application form (fill out, print, and send along with $20.00 to Ed Waits).