(click for history)

  • 2021-23 - JENNIFER ALDRICH, Allegan
  • 2019-21 - ERIC GAJAR, Ann Arbor Greenhills
  • 2017-19 - MARK SOBIERALSKI, Grosse Pointe South/University Liggett
  • 2015-17 - RON LANDFAIR, Lansing Catholic
  • 2013-15 - MIKE McGINNIS, Battle Creek Lakeview
  • 2011-13 - JOE GENTLE, North Muskegon
  • 2009-11 - PETER MILITZER, Portage Central
  • 2007-09 - NANCY BRISSETTE, Essexville-Garber
  • 2005-07 - TOM LEYRER, Jenison
  • 2003-05 - JERRY MURPHY, Rochester
  • 2001-03 - JOHN SHADE, Grosse Ile
  • 1999-2001 - TIM COLEMAN, Woodhaven
  • 1997-99 - KAREN PAGE, Holland West Ottawa
  • 1995-97 - GARY ELLIS, Allegan
  • 1993-95 - ELLIOT PEARCE, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central
  • 1991-93 - ED WAITS, Southfield Lathrup
  • 1989-91 - JIM CUMMINS, Battle Creek Central
  • 1987-89 - STAN NOLAND, Monroe
  • 1985-87 - CHARLES BASSETT, Spring Lake
  • 1983-85 - TIGER TEUSINK, Holland
  • 1981-83 - HAROLD HOLCOMB, Essexville-Garber
  • 1979-81 - BOB QUINN, Saginaw Hertiage
  • 1977-79 - CHARLIE PARTIN, East Grand Rapids


    District # 1: Rules & Rules Meeting
    Director: Jerry Murphy, Rochester
    Eric Bracciano, Lake Orion
    Nathan Immekus, U of D Jesuit

    Bill McDaniel, Holly
    Brian Miska, Troy
    Jim Slaughter, U of D Jesuit
    John Van Alst, Grosse Pointe North

    District # 2: Membership
    Director: Rocco Giorgi, Gibraltar Carlson
    Andy BeDell, Saline
    Gordon Boettcher, Ann Arbor Huron
    Don McCathney, Livonia Stevenson

    Vince Preuthun, Trenton
    Tom Pullen, Ann Arbor Pioneer
    John Shade, Grosse Ile

    District # 3: Awards
    Director: Hal Stofer, Three Rivers
    Jennifer Aldrich - Allegan

    Jim Cummins, Battle Creek
    Gary Ellis, Allegan
    Nancy Martin. Portage Central
    Peter Militzer, Portage Central

    District # 4: Mentor Program & Tennis Reporting
    Director: Jim Jonas, Fowlerville
    Henry Brunnschweiler, Haslett
    Jim D'Angelo, Mason
    Ron Landfair

    Nate Schwarzbek

    District # 5: Ethics & Sportsmanship
    Director: Open
    Kyle Kreps, Holland
    Greg McManus, Whitehall
    Jud Mulder, Zeeland East

    Kevin O'Keefe, Holland
    Chuck Pothoven, Grand Rapids South Christian

    Duy Tran, East Kentwood

    District # 6: Historian & Hall of Fame
    Director: Jeff Newingham, Essexville Garber
    Doug Adams
    Harold Holcumb, Essexville-Garber
    Don Leavy, Grand Blanc

    Bob Quinn, Saginaw, Heritage
    Terry Schwartzkopf, Midland Dow

    District # 7: Managers & Coaches Manual
    Director: Annmarie Michol, Utica

    Dave Fredette, Armada
    Mark Sobieralski, Grosse Pointe South/University Liggett

    District # 8: Grievance & Appeal
    Director: Larry Nykerk, Traverse City Central
    Denny Green, Petoskey

    District # 9: UP Relations
    Director: Open
    Assistants: Open

    History of Our Association

    In 1976 Bob Wood realized that there was a definite need for an organization through which coaches could improve their coaching and quality of their teams. He first set out by sending 400 letters to all schools with tennis programs in the state and received in return a substantial number of positive responses for establishing an association of tennis coaches. He then contacted Warren McKenzie, assistant director of the MHSAA in charge of tennis, to map out the state into five districts. Subsequently, he appointed Charles Partin of East Grand Rapids as president, Bob Quinn of Saginaw MacArthur as first vice-president, Sandy Peterson of Portage Northern as second vice-president, and personally assumed the role of secretary/treasurer. District committees were formed, directors and assistant directors were named, and the organization was formally founded in 1976. Its first summer meetings were held at Houghton Lake in July, 1977. With the group now established, Wood began to organize the first of many highly successful coaches clinics in February, 1977, at East Detroit. Brian Eisner, mens varsity coach at the University of Michigan, and the late Ian Laver, a teaching pro from Delray Beach, Florida, were featured as the main speakers at Eastpointe, which attracted 126 coaches that first year. Bob was encouraged by the positive comments and words of appreciation for his mighty efforts. With this initial thrust into the clinic business, Bob Wood with the assistance of Gary Bodenmiller of the Grosse Pointe Indoor Tennis Club has since developed innovative ideas which have made our Michigan Workshop one of the very best clinics in the entire nation.

    Top of page